8 totally random things you probably didn’t know about the blonde girl

Hopefully you will not judge me too much…

8. Growing up around car dealerships and the business has provided me with countless opportunities to surprise people with my “car knowledge.”

For once, let us just forget about the time in Food Lion where I provided the lady behind me with some “words of wisdom” regarding cars. “Hyundai’s and Kia’s are junk,” I said, after she offered the information that she drove a Kia. I was eight. I was also instructed not to share my car knowledge with people anymore. (Nothing against people with these cars, dad just didn’t buy them for various reasons and used the word “junk” to emphasize the quality compared to other makes.) ANYWAY, I have learned what to look for in cars, the advantages and disadvantages of certain makes and models. But more importantly, I have also been trusted to buy cars in auctions (while I actually think “what if I’m bidding on the wrong car and pay 17,000 dollars for it”) and it is also a plus when your ’92 Accord is being serviced and you MUST switch cars with something at the dealership (a sports car please, dad?)

7. I may have a slight obsession with TV on DVD.

Growing up, my family did not have cable television. While this was a good thing with the amount of activities we were involved in (and so my brother and I weren’t couch potatoes), it definitely had its downsides. For example, I was so out of the loop in fifth grade when my friends were picking Disney channel boyfriends. In middle school, I got a DVD player and my life was changed forever. I currently own all the seasons of Family Matters, Full House, Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, Friends and Growing Pains. I also have seasons of Keeping up Appearances (people: don’t deprive yourself of this show), Gossip Girl, I Love Lucy and the Andy Griffith Show. Fun fact: I watched Family Matters and Full House SO much that I had most of the lines memorized.

6. I adore Shetland Sheepdogs.

In first grade, my family made a trip to Weyers Cave to purchase Reece, a Shetland Sheepdog. I will always remember Reece’s happy personality: loving everyone he met and wanting everyone to share their snacks. While Reece was different than the “average” Sheltie, my love for him sparked a love for the breed. In case you’ve noticed the three pictures below and are thinking, “What in the world do those things have to do with my love for Shetland Sheepdogs?”- well, they don’t really have anything to do with them. I was just going to tell you about how Reece ingested a sock at my birthday party, ate that slimy hand (which was actually nice in a way because my brother kept annoying me with it), and ate a plate of brownies he stole off the table (and was fine).

Reece was part of our family. He made me laugh on a daily basis. We taught him to play hide-and-seek too: a favorite game until your hiding place was found. Then, be prepared for countless teeth marks all over your arms and bad breath in your face. In addition, I had a folder labeled “Sheltie Pictures.” I’m surprised my parents didn’t ban me from the computer considering all the pictures I printed out of random shelties for no other reason than I thought they were all cute and liked to look through them.

5. Two words and two syllables: Ice Cream.

Those who know me probably already know that I love ice cream (or desserts in general). But I bet you DID NOT know that 75% of purchases made according to my checkbook were for ice cream related stops. 25% was shopping at Ross, where I buy athletic clothes that I don’t have room for in my closet OR purchase things that I then return four days later.

4. For those of you who don’t know, substitute teaching = entertainment + (sometimes) tears + hard work

I applied for a substitute teaching job my sophomore year of college. I didn’t tell anyone about it until I had already been called in for paperwork and training because of what I expected to hear: “Don’t you think you will be too busy with school and tennis?” and the infamous, “WHAT? Those kids are totally going to take advantage of you because you look so young.” Guess what? I did it anyway and it has been a totally rewarding experience. There was that one time I had an elementary-aged girl throw a chair and desk at me… but other than that, I haven’t had a problem with any student and I’ve subbed K-12.

Favorite quotes by students I can actually remember:

  • “Why is there a model in the classroom?” -2nd grader at MES

Well, that about sums it up. #model (HAHA just being silly but this really did happen)

There are many days when I come home from a job physically and mentally exhausted, making me realize just how AMAZING people who work in schools everyday are.

3. James 1:2-8 has always helped me find hope and perseverance when in the midst of tough times. (JUST READ THESE MARVELOUS WORDS!!)

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.

Thankfully, I have not had many tough times in my life. I partly contribute this to the role of God in my life and positive attitude in situations- but sometimes, situations are beyond a person’s control. Gaining perspective, learning something new about yourself and putting all your trust in God are what tough times are all about.

As a side note, I am a FIRM believer of taking risks and rough times have helped me see the importance of this. Especially through college, I have had the outlook of, “Do it. What do you have to lose?” Now, this doesn’t go for everything. There are some situations were you obviously want to think about your decisions and their consequences, but as a general rule, we think about things too much in life. What will people think or say? What if I look silly? If you want to truly live, you have to do things that are outside of your comfort zone.

2. I don’t drink or do the “party” thing.

WAIT….WHAT? Most times, people see my looks and automatically think party girl. But I actually don’t drink or party. Don’t get me wrong: I’m not against people who drink or people who party. I just think that it is taken too far most times- especially in college- and that there are more productive (and fun) things that I want to do with my own time. Along with that, I sometimes feel like I nerd when I tell people I went to Governor’s School and hold a 3.8 GPA [go gov’t majors!] in college. That must be where all my time goes.

1. I am a morning person.

This isn’t a surprise to anyone who knows me well, is it? I just wanted to clear up that this is the reason that I am so enthusiastic (annoying so, maybe) in my 8 AM classes.

Oh, and here’s a bonus fact I’m sure you can’t live without: I am also obsessed with flossing. I am pretty sure my new dentist thought I was lying this past visit when I wrote down I flossed twice a day. But hey! I have never had any cavities…

Leave a Reply

